qué si what!?

Yesterday I started Spanish level 2! I have a different teacher and the class is much larger so hopefully some people will get shuffled around. It was kind of funny, this time when we had to introduce ourselves we could actually communicate things besides our name (so I must be learning something). The only word I didn’t understand was “skydiver” since that wasn’t covered in our list of possible professions. Yes there is a skydiver, from Chicago, in my class.

So now that I’m back in  thinking-about-spanish mode (I had a three-day vacation) I have been thinking about little grammar things we haven’t gone over but I often need to use. For example, por and para can both mean “for” (among other things) but are not interchangeable. Para is for opinion (for me…), where someone is going (to school), a time limit (by two o’clock), and purpose (that pencil is for writing). Por is for reasons (because of the rain), movement (through the door), times of day (in the afternoon), an exchange/price (for two dollars), transportation (by plane), or duration of time (for one hour). Hopefully you see why this can be confusing.

A stranger mixup can happen with qué/que. They are not the same! Por qué is why, but porque is because. Similarly qué is what, and que has a mirad of uses. Que can mean who or that; as in “people who speak Spanish” or “places that have trains.” It also is just in some structures, like “I have to…” is “tengo que…” I am sure it has other uses it frequents where I more often forget to include it in the fun, but I will leave it at that. As my teacher was fond of saying: “porqué? porque si”

I am not sure you really wanted to hear about spanish grammar, but I am not in the mood to write the angry DAS post (just you wait for it, think DMV nightmare) and not much is happening around here. If you are not familiar with Fawlty Towers, which is where the title is from, you should look into it.

About syd

I like beats & beets
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to qué si what!?

  1. Kerr says:

    So is the cat bilingual, or perhaps tri (French too?)

  2. Randy Cole says:

    Hello, you used to write fantastic, but the last several posts have been kinda boring… I miss your great writings. Past few posts are just a little out of track! come on!”To dare is to lose one’s footing momentarily. To not dare is to lose oneself.” by Sren Aaby Kierkegaard.

Leave a Reply

