Snacktime with Syd: Tea Eggs

I have always been a fan of hardboiled eggs (although not the yolk), and now that I am eating them again I was stoked when I found this version of a Chinese recipe:

TRADITIONAL TEA EGGS

Ingredients:

6 eggs
3 tablespoons soy sauce
1 teaspoon salt
1 tablespoon black tea leaves or 1 tea bag
1 cinnamon stick
4 pieces star anise
1 teaspoon cracked peppercorns (optional)
2 strips dried mandarin peel (optional)

Method

  1. Place eggs in saucepan of cold water – water level should be a few inches higher than the eggs.
  2. Bring to a boil, then simmer for 2 minutes.
  3. Remove the eggs.
  4. With a teaspoon, gently tap each egg in a few places to crack the shells.
  5. Add the tea and seasonings to the saucepan water and stir, then put the eggs back in.
  6. Cover and simmer for at least 2 hours – the longer the better – adding water as necessary.
  7. Drain, serve cold.
I did not have any anise, so I used fennel seeds and that seems to be fine, although I think I should have let the eggs soak longer. Recipe from Zoetica Ebb. I like the chai eggs she mentions. Perhaps when I feel like shelling out (hah) for quail eggs I will make some. (quail eggs are fairly abundant here)
Oh yes I will tell you all about my first day of class, but right now I am hurrying out to my second!
About syd

I like beats & beets
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Snacktime with Syd: Tea Eggs

  1. Jenn says:

    This looks delicious. Did you come up with the idea on your own and find a recipe or were you just browsing and found it?

    • syd says:

      I think I had heard about them but forgot, but then yeah one day I just ran into that recipie. They are super delicious, you should make some. The longer you let them soak the better. (the chai version is equally wonderful)

Leave a Reply

