Home Alone: en Español!

Yesterday Manu had to spend all day at the university doing silly orientation nonsense so I was left to my own devices. Laying in bed I made a game plan: eat breakfast, paint the wall, go grocery shopping, make cookies and rice pudding, scrub the floor (no really, the linoleum floor is gross). This was largely accomplished, behold the wall:

 And if you open the doooor….

there’s a cone hiding behind it! The orange goes well with the teal in the other room. very nice. I should also mention that we stenciled the bathroom a little while ago, and you can see those here.

So how things actually went down was that I did two layers of paint, went grocery shopping, then did the final two layers. I went out around twelve so the streets were flooded with school kids, all in their little uniforms, because they get to go home for lunch. The grocery store was a small adventure in puzzling things out, and since I didn’t bring my dictionary I failed to realize I bought beef flavored ramen and mini plums until I was home.  I had kind of hoped they were oversized cherries, but they were still delicious.

I did get everything for the cookies besides chocolate chips, and I can’t be blamed for that since apparently they don’t really use them here. What else was in these cookies? well you should make some yourself:

1/2 cup shortening (I just used margarine, not being Betty Crocker in the 50s)
1/2 cup white sugar
1/2 cup brown sugar (packed)
1 egg
1/2 tsp vanilla
1 cup flour
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
1 cup quick-cooking oats
1 cup corn flakes
1/2 cup shredded coconut
optional: rasins, chocolate chips…maybe walnuts
Heat oven to 375. First mix shortening, sugars, egg & vanilla. Stir in remaining ingredients. Drop dough by rounded teaspoonfulls 2 inches apart onto an ungreased cookie sheet. Bake 10 minutes. Immediately remove from cookie sheet & cool on paper towels.

Then there was some minimal floor scrubbing, but hey at least the bedroom doesn’t turn my feet grey anymore. I also finished one of the books I was reading, The Master and Margarita, I recommend it if you are looking for some sweet Russian fiction for sure.

About syd

I like beats & beets
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

