juego cashflow

I am money paranoid. I hate spending money, I hate dealing with money: it is just not something I relish. In most areas I could probably rival Scrooge in miserliness. Manu even called me out the other day in the grocery store while I was trying to find a middle ground of quality and price—on ketchup. All this is to give you an idea of how abruptly my heart stopped when the grocery bill rang up as $104000.

Then I remembered it was in pesos. 

One US dollar is 1843.50 pesos, a not very graspable number but it does inform you that pesos are verrry small. So the grocery bill was really only $59.12. For a general idea I usually drop the last zero (it is always a zero, the smallest coin is 50 pesos) and then divide it in half. So my favorite snack of buñuelos from the local bakery costs 300 pesos, a mere 15 cents! (in reality, 17 cents. for small numbers it works well enough)

Pesos have been the Colombian currency since 1837 and have had a long and sordid history of being pegged to the French franc, then the British pound, and then the US dollar; it also went through various subdivision alterations. Currently there are coins for 50, 100, 200, and 500 pesos (which increase in size) and bills for 1000, 2000, 5000, 10000, 20000 and 50000 (which also increase in size). Yes that is the moon on the 20. Big numbers also perturb me, particularly when they appear without commas, but I am getting better. Sometimes a decimal point will be used after the first three digits (12.000) which is actually quite perfect for ignoring the last digit anyway.

 

So that’s that. This of course is also making me better at numbers in Spanish and forcing me to face some large money number fears. Oh, and juego cashflow is some graffiti I see around (usually next to numbers for bikes and learning to dance, maybe it is some money scam?) but also is a boardgame kind of like the game of Life. Which I suppose is appropriate, C.R.E.A.M.

About syd

I like beats & beets
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

