photos: children, know your city

Kid’s museums are great. You can touch things, you can talk without feeling like everyone is listening, there are frequently activities and everything is streamlined for someone with the attention span of a small dog. Really, the good ones are an impressive feat of educational fun I think many teachers could learn from (#publicschoolkidsbrokemyheart). Of course I don’t want that allll the time, but for these reasons you can see why I was more or less looking forward to our visit to Maloka, the interactive science center, with some of Manu’s family.

(uugh I know, “why are you using internet pictures syd? I can get those myself.” I’m having personal photography doubts, all the more reason to improve I guess. same for writing, good thing I run a blog huh?)

So in the morning we hailed down one of the hundreds of busetas that roam the city on paths unknown to me (unlike the Transmilenio, there is no transit map [not that that isn’t confusing]) and eventually ended up by the museum.

Maloka opened in 1998 with nine underground rooms and a dome theater, and more recently added a 3D theater. It’s not as general science-y as I anticipated and focuses largely on the city and energy. There is a whole section comparing petroleum, natural gas, and diesel (I think?) complete with a contained fire you can add CO, CO2, and some other gas to. I think this is supposed to illustrate why we do not want carbon monoxide out and about, but the effect is more oh-sweet-fire. From there of course one gets to cars, and there is a board that looks like a chunk of city and you can add and remove stop signs, pedestrian bridges, ect. and see what happens. It seems a little early for the kids to appreciate city planning, but start ’em young I guess. I enjoyed it anyway.

You can also get a mini driver’s ed lesson, although whoever made the virtual reality’s streets clearly ignored the reality of Bogotá’s streets. Even coming from L.A. I’d look cautious around here.

There’s also a space section, which includes a giant Tesla coil, and a sort of bodies/evolution section. I believe those are always there, and then the changing exhibit was about how perception works and how easily we’re fooled. There was also something with a Kinect… I’m not exactly sure what that was about besides check-out-this-technology. Not knowing Spanish perhaps I am worse off than the children in terms of comprehension…. but whatever, you weren’t looking for a museum review anyway (but you still got most of one).

Ok last thing because it deserves mention— you could climb into an inflatable ball and “be a molecule” rolling around in a giant kiddie pool. (what? who gets paid to think of these things?) This mostly involved falling down and bumping about until you were pulled out. We did not participate in this particular educational experience.

So that was that. Maloka was very well put together, good stuff. We had some excellent cotton candy then went to the nearby mall (a place worthy of it’s own post) where we had “mexican food” before puttering off home.

I feel like I write really long posts. eh.

About syd

I like beats & beets
This entry was posted in pictures and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to photos: children, know your city

  1. expwnged says:

    I’m a transportation nerd, so I just have to know: How is the bus rapid transit system??????

  2. syd says:

    um, this is a complicated question that we are currently crafting a post for, but the actual bus system, the transmilenio, is a pretty good system but is really more like a mini subway (they have their own lane) and is not always ideal. The busetas go everywhere and are cheaper, but they do have to go through traffic. but for sure, legit public transit, and many of the main roads have a bike lane.

Leave a Reply

